The State of Vermont participates in the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS). Beginning November 1, 2012 all applications for a debt adjuster license must be submitted through NMLS.
Effective November 1, 2012, the Banking Division will no longer accept paper applications for debt adjuster licenses. As of November 1, 2012, those companies wishing to apply for licensure must do so through NMLS. Any paper applications received after November 1st will be returned to the applicant. Please direct inquiries to DFR.NMLS1@state.vt.us
The following is a partial list of exceptions. For a complete list of exceptions, please refer to 8 V.S.A. § 2763
$500.00 (includes a $250.00 Licensing Fee and a $250.00 Investigation Fee)
Branch registration - $100.00 Registration Fee
Corporate licenses - $350.00 (Includes $100 NMLS processing fee)
Branch licenses - $20.00 NMLS processing fee
Change in Location: $100.00
Change in Control: $250.00
Applicant, or any of such members, officers, directors, or persons in control of the applicant, can not have been convicted of a felony or have a record of defaulting in the payment of money collected for others, including the discharge of such debts through bankruptcy proceedings.
Bond amount: $50,000.00
Registered Agent recorded with the Vermont Secretary of State.