Insurance Division

Kaj Samsom
Kaj Samsom
Deputy Commissioner

The mission of the Insurance Division is to maintain affordability and availability of insurance for Vermonters, ensure that insurers are able to meet their contractual obligations, to ensure reasonable and orderly competition among insurers, and to protect Vermont consumers against unfair and unlawful business practices. 

Toward this goal, the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation is part of the U.S. insurance regulatory framework which is a highly coordinated state-based national system designed to protect policyholders and to serve the greater public interest through the effective regulation of the U.S. insurance marketplace.  Through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), insurance regulators establish national standards and best practices, conduct peer reviews and coordinate their regulatory oversight to better protect the interests of consumers while ensuring a strong, viable insurance marketplace. U.S. insurance regulators also participate in the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS) along with the NAIC by participating in all its major standard-setting initiatives, including working with fellow regulators from around the world to better supervise cross-border insurers, identifying systemic risk in the insurance sector, and creating international best practices.

Industry Contacts

  • Company Licensing – 802-828-2470
  • Producer Licensing -802-828-3303
  • Commercial Filings – 802-828-4844 or 802-828-1686
  • Personal Filings – 802-828-2917
  • SERFF – 802-828-2917
  • Workers Comp. –802-828-2917

Changes to Health Insurance Rates & Forms Filing Fees

Effective January 1, 2014 the filing fee for all Health related filings have increased from $50.00 to $150.00. To view the statutory changes please click on the following links. http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=08&Chapter=107..., http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=08&Chapter=123... and http://www.leg.state.vt.us/statutes/fullsection.cfm?Title=08&Chapter=125....

Insurance Holding Company Systems with Reporting Forms

Pursuant to the recent changes to Vermont’s insurance holding company statutes, 8 V.S.A. §§ 3681-3695, as well as the forthcoming amendments to Regulation 71-2, titled Insurance Holding Company Systems with Reporting Forms and Instructions, the Insurance Division is pleased to release amended Forms A, B, C, and D, and new Forms E and F.  

Producer & Individual Licensing

Review Important Notice Updates

Renewal Notices for 2015 will be sent out Electronically from our vendor, Vertafore(formerly Sircon) around January 5, 2015. You will not be able to renew until after that date. The instructions for renewal will be within the email.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Vermont Producer licenses expire on a common expiration date of March 31 of Odd years. If you apply for a license now, you will pay the initial license and application fee for a license that expires on March 31, 2015. You will also receive an invoice for the license renewal fee prior to the expiration date of that license. All applications received at the Insurance Department AFTER March 1st, 2015 will not be issued effective until April 1st, 2015, unless a specific request is made.

VERMONT ACCEPTS ADJUSTER DESIGNATED HOME STATE (ADHS) APPLICATIONS FOR NON RESIDENT ADJUSTERS

The Department is pleased to announce it is now accepting ADHS applications. An applicant applying for a license who has designated a home state will be able to obtain a Vermont adjuster license electronically using the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Individuals that already hold a Vermont non-resident adjuster license and have designated a home state will be able to renew electronically using their ADHS.