Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Order
Tuesday, May 25, 2010
Docket No. 09-183-H

Transacting insurance business in Vermont without a certificate of authority or license from the Commissioner of Banking, Insurance, Securities, and Health Care Administration in violation of 8 V.S.A. § 3361 and § 3368. Issuing and delivering certificates of coverage that were not filed with and approved by the Commissioner in violation of 8 V.S.A. § 4062.

 
Action taken was:
  1. Administrative penalty payment of $100,000.00
  2. Payment of the Department’s costs of $3,663.00
  3. Cease and Desist from entering into any master group policy contract to cover Vermont residents that would require it to have a Vermont certificate of authority or license, unless it holds such license.
AttachmentSize
Commissioner's Order260.96 KB

These documents are not legal documents but are placed here for reference purposes only. For a legal copy please contact the department.