STATE OF VERMONT
DEPARTMENT OF BANKING, INSURANCE, SECURITIES
AND HEALTH CARE ADMINISTRATION

Regulation H-2009-02

HEALTH CARE STOP LOSS INSURANCE
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Section 1. Authority and Purpose.

This regulation is promulgated under the authority granted to the Commissioner
by Title 8 V.S.A. § 15 and Title 8 V.S.A. § 6015 in order to establish criteria for the
issuance of health care stop loss insurance policies and contracts. Nothing in this
regulation shall be construed as imposing any requirement or duty on any person other
than an insurer or as treating any health care stop loss policy as a direct policy of health
insurance.

Section 2. Scope.
This regulation applies to each health care stop loss insurance policy or contract
that is delivered or issued for delivery by an insurer in Vermont.
Section 3. Definitions.
As used in this regulation:
A. “Actuarial Certification” means a written and signed statement by a
member in good standing of the American Academy of Actuaries, or other

individual acceptable to the Commissioner, that an insurer is in
compliance with the provisions of this regulation, based upon the
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Section 4.

A.

individual’s examination and including a review of the appropriate records
and the actuarial assumptions and methods used by the insurer in
establishing attachment points and other applicable determinations in
conjunction with the provision of health care stop loss insurance coverage.

“Attachment Point” means the claims amount incurred by a group health
plan beyond which the health care stop loss insurer incurs a liability for
payment.

“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Department of Banking,
Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration.

“Department” means the Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance,
Securities and Health Care Administration.

“Expected Claims” means the amount of claims that, in the absence of a
health care stop loss policy or other insurance, are projected to be incurred
by a group health plan.

“Health Care Stop Loss Insurance” means insurance or other risk-transfer
arrangement that is purchased by a group health plan or by the sponsor or
trustee of such plan (or by any guarantor or indemnitor thereof other than
a licensed insurance company or reinsurer), to limit the exposure of such

person against losses sustained by such plan.

“Insurer” means any insurance company, including a captive insurance
company formed or licensed under Chapter 141 of Title 8, Vermont
Statutes Annotated (other than a pure captive), health maintenance
organization, nonprofit hospital service corporation and nonprofit medical
service corporation, and to the extent permitted by federal law, a risk
retention group chartered and licensed in any state.

“Small Employer” has the same meaning provided in 8 V.S.A. § 4080a, as
amended.

“Small Group” has the same meaning provided in 8 V.S.A. § 4080a, as
amended.
Health Care Stop Loss Insurance Coverage Standards.

An insurer shall not issue a health care stop loss insurance policy or
contract that:
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a) Has an annual attachment point for claims incurred per individual
which is lower than $20,000;

b) Has an annual aggregate attachment point, for Small Employers,
that is lower than the greater of:

1) $4,000 times the number of group members;
ii) 120 percent of expected claims; or
iii) $20,000;

c) Has an annual aggregate attachment point, for any groups other
than Small Employers, that is lower than 110 percent of expected
claims; or

d) Provides direct coverage of health care expenses of an individual.

B. The Commissioner may adjust the dollar amounts set forth in Paragraph

A, above, to reflect appropriate inflation factors and medical trends in
Vermont. The Commissioner may amend these dollar amounts in
increments of $100; any adjustments made to the dollar amounts set forth
in Paragraph A or Paragraph B, above, must be in increments of $100.
The Commissioner shall publish any adjustment to the dollar amounts set
forth in Paragraph A, above, at least six (6) months before the date such
adjustment is to become effective.

Section 5. Required Disclosure Provisions.

Each health care stop loss insurance policy or contract shall include on the first
page of the policy or contract, or attached thereto, in either contrasting color or in bold-
faced type at least equal to the size of the type used for policy or contract captions,
prominent and clear disclosure indicating whether claims under the policy or contract are
paid on a “run-in”, “paid”, “run-out” or other basis, and, to the extent such terms are
used, what those terms mean. If a “terminal liability” option is available under the policy
or contract, the policy or contract shall so state, and shall include a clear description of
such option. If the policy or contract restricts covered claims to those that are both
incurred and paid by the insured during the contract period, then the policy or contract

shall include the following prominent statement:

Only eligible expenses that are both incurred under the group
health plan and paid by the group health plan within the stated
contract period for health care stop loss insurance are
reimbursable under this policy.
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Section 6.

A.

Section 7.

A.

Form Filing Requirements.

Insurers shall file all forms for approval by the Commissioner prior to use
of a stop loss insurance policy form. No form shall be approved if it
contains any provision which is unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading, or
contrary to the law of this state.

Forms, as used in this Rule, shall include the following: all product forms,
including but not limited to, policy forms, member handbooks,
certificates, endorsements, riders, and applications.

Rate Filing Requirements.

Prior to implementation, carriers shall file for approval rate filings that
include, at a minimum, the following:

(1) a certification by a member of the American Academy of
Actuaries which certifies a carrier’s compliance with this section
and the Act. Such certification shall include sufficient detail for the
Commissioner to verify that such certification is appropriate.
Carriers shall provide additional information as requested by the
Commissioner in order to verify representations in the rate filing;

(i1) a statement by a member of the American Academy of
Actuaries that the rates are reasonable in relation to the benefits
provided, and that they are neither excessive, deficient, nor
unfairly discriminatory;

(ii1) a description of the methodology for calculating the requested
rate;

(iv) an identification of the effective date that the rates were
designed for and the effective period of the rates; and

(v) an explanation of adverse selection factors considered by the
carrier.

In addition, for policies issued to Small Groups, carriers shall file
premium rates for approval prior to implementation. No rate shall be
approved it is unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading or contrary to the law
of this state. Notice of a premium rate increase shall be provided to
insureds at least 45 days prior to implementation, subject to waiver as
approved by the Commissioner. In no event shall rate increases be
implemented without at least 30 days written notice to the insured.

HEALTH CARE STOP LOSS INSURANCE 4



Section 8. Severability.

If any provision of this regulation or the application thereof to any person or
circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the
application of such provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected
thereby.

Section 9. Effectiveness.

This regulation shall become effective with respect to health care stop loss
insurance policies issued or renewed six (6) months after April 29, 2009; provided, the
Commissioner may waive or modify one or more of the provisions of this regulation for
any health care stop loss insurance issued by a captive insurance company or risk
retention group under a plan of operation satisfying the underlying purposes of this rule
as determined by the Commissioner. Administration and enforcement of this rule with
respect to Vermont-domiciled captive insurance companies and Vermont-domiciled risk
retention groups shall be by the Department's Captive Insurance Division consistent with
the responsibilities of the Division and the Commissioner under Chapter 141 and Chapter
142 and Title 8.
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