Three Vermonters named to Captive Review Hall of Fame

The original captive bill is signed in 1981 by Gov. Richard Snelling. In the foreground are all the Captive Review captive service awards the department has received.

Deputy Commissioner David Provost and two former Captive Division heads, Leonard Crouse and Edward Meehan, are three of the 13 inductees to the Captive Review Hall of Fame. The magazine, “Captive Review,” said it aims to recognize people who have “shaped and driven the captive journey over the past half-century.”

It called Meehan, Vermont’s first captive insurance director, the man who “kick-started Vermont’s captive insurance journey and set it on the road to the ‘Gold Standard’ status it holds today.”  Crouse shepherded the department’s captive insurance division through what Captive Review called Vermont’s “crucial growth period” from the 1990s to 2008. Provost, who took over the division in 2008, has been named the most influential person in the captive world numerous times and is respected globally for his captive expertise.
Read more: